Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Pass ONLINE (An NoF Portal)

Clan NoF's Community For Yu-Gi-Oh!, Anime, Video Games, and MORE!

Yu-Gi-Oh! Deck Recipes – “Chaos Rising” (Prototype Dark/Light Deck) – By Yogizilla

Posted by Yogizilla on August 12, 2011

{EAV_BLOG_VER:2070514c9f875a89}

I’ve always had a love affair with DARK monsters but LIGHT monsters are no slouch in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG, either – ESPECIALLY with cards like Honest and Athena out there!

After playing Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2010: Reverse of Arcadia for a few days now, my quest to build “perfect” Dark decks has begun once again. I am looking to build a Zombie deck, a LIGHT/DARK deck, and a synchro-summon DARK deck, amongst others. In this installment, we’ll look at my recipe for “Chaos Rising” thus far…

Yu-Gi-Oh! Chaos Sorcerer

Chaos Sorcerer makes Dark Magician look like a pansy.

SUMMARY: My prototype deck still has lots of work to be done but I’ve won more duels than I have lost with it. The build revolves around Chaos Sorcerer, a monster that can remove from play one face-up monster on the field once every turn (at the cost of not being able to attack with him that turn). I’d say that is my key card but I have other winning strategies in this deck and I’d say it is rather flexible, in spite of it’s imperfections. Combining Light and Dark monsters is always fun and I’ll add more to my deck once I acquire the right cards (this is a Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 5D’s video game deck, just so you know, but it works well offline too).

This is a maxed-out deck at 60 cards.  Currently, 28 cards are SPELL or TRAP cards, the rest are monsters.  Nothing in my Extra Deck.  Side Deck is mainly a placeholder so this deck has been tuned for single duels.  Read more to see the cards in my deck right now…

CARD LIST:

*** Main Deck ***

  • 1 Archfiend Soldier L4 DARK
  • 2 Dark Blade L4 DARK
  • 2 Mad Dog of Darkness L4 DARK
  • 1 Blowback Dragon L6 DARK
  • 1 Breaker the Magical Warrior L4 DARK
  • 1 Chaos Necromancer L1 DARK
  • 2 Chaos Sorcerer L6 DARK Semi-Limited Card
  • 1 Giant Orc L4 DARK
  • 3 Magical Merchant L1 LIGHT
  • 2 Mataza the Zapper L3 DARK
  • 1 Morphing Jar L2 DARK Limited Card
  • 1 Mystical Knight of Jackal L7 LIGHT
  • 1 Newdoria L4 DARK
  • 1 Night Assailant L3 DARK Limited Card
  • 1 Old Vindictive Magician L2 DARK
  • 1 Pitch-Dark Dragon L3 DARK
  • 1 Pixie Knight L2 LIGHT
  • 1 Reflect Bounder L4 LIGHT
  • 1 Roulette Barrel L4 LIGHT
  • 1 Royal Magical Library L4 LIGHT
  • 1 Sacred Crane L4 LIGHT
  • 1 Spirit Reaper L3 DARK Limited Card
  • 1 Twin-Headed Behemoth L3 WIND
  • 1 Witch’s Apprentice L2 DARK
  • 1 Zaborg the Thunder Monarch L5 LIGHT
  • 2 Different Dimension Gate SPELL
  • 2 Enemy Controller SPELL
  • 1 Gravity Axe – Gnarl SPELL
  • 1 Heavy Storm SPELL
  • 2 Lucky Iron Axe SPELL
  • 1 Mystical Space Typhoon SPELL
  • 1 Reasoning SPELL Limited Card
  • 1 Reload SPELL
  • 1 Swords of Revealing Light SPELL Limited Card
  • 2 Begone, Knave! TRAP
  • 1 Call of the Haunted TRAP Limited Card
  • 2 Draining Shield TRAP
  • 1 Dust Tornado TRAP
  • 1 Hidden Book of Spell TRAP
  • 2 Kunai with Chain TRAP
  • 1 Malevolent Catastrophe TRAP
  • 1 Needle Ceiling TRAP
  • 2 Raigeki Break TRAP
  • 1 Reckless Greed TRAP
  • 1 Sakuretsu Armor TRAP
  • 1 Wall of Revealing Light TRAP Limited Card 

*** Side Deck ***

  • 1  Cliff the Trap Remover L3 DARK
  • 1 Pitch-Dark Dragon L3 DARK
  • 2 The Unhappy Girl L2 DARK
  • 1 Autonomous Action Unit SPELL
  • 1 Monster Gate SPELL Limited Card
  • 1 Wicked-Breaking Flamberge – Baou SPELL
  • 1 Dust Tornado TRAP
  • 1 Skill Drain TRAP
  • 1 Xing Zhen Hu TRAP

*** Extra Deck ***
Nothing to see here, folks!

STRENGTHS: When your opponent has monsters that can’t be destroyed by battle or are just too strong, there are many strategies in this deck to counter them. I also have added many “mass effect” cards, so that I can do some crowd control or take care of several spell/trap cards at once. Raigeki Break gives me tons of flexibility for handling tough monsters or pesky spell and trap cards. I’ve been able to consistently counter Structure and Core Decks revolving around Water, Six-Samurai, Light, Fire, Wind (Harpie Deck mainly), and Dark attribute/type monsters, amongst others. Not too shabby for a fledgling deck build!

WEAKNESSES: Decks designed to remove opponent cards from play really screw me here and render around 10% of my cards useless. Decks that have flip-effect counters will also hurt quite a few of my strategies. Of course, if the opponent takes control of one of my beastly summons, that’s bad news too. All things I have to do some tweaking for…

OTHER NOTES: Right off the bat, I know I can probably forego Hidden Book of Spell, Dark Blade, and Pitch-Dark Dragon. The foremost is handy but it doesn’t get you key cards in your hand fast enough.. And, on a huge deck like this, getting the Dark Blade + Dragon combo out is pretty darn tough and probably not worth it, considering all the spells and traps I have to support my cards.  It’d likely be better to throw in more equip cards or, better yet, continuous effects.  The persistent spell and trap cards tend to force opponents to preemptively attack your quick-play area, which allows you to set up for your “closers”.

I’m really happy with this deck and will see it through.  Once I pick up more cards, you’ll see some updates here, which I will likely repost in a few weeks.  For now, I have a trunk of over 800 cards with some good candidates.  I mainly need to get some more draw ability cards, especially stuff that lets me return cards from the out of play area.

BTW, I am really digging Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2010 for the Nintendo DS.  This is my new test area for duel training and deck builds, until I pick up 2011 and/or 2009.  If you have any thoughts on the games, please share.  I’m not a HUGE fan of the duel running aspect (it has grown onto me) but I like the fact that the minigames DO break up the potentially repetitive gameplay.  What’s your favorite Yu-Gi-Oh! video game?

What do you think?  Love it, hate it, somewhere in between?  Don’t forget to share your recipes with us – follow me, Yogizilla, on Twitter!

For more Yu-Gi-Oh! duel tips and discussion, visit our Official DuelPassOnline Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel School!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 567 other followers

