Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Pass ONLINE (An NoF Portal)

Clan NoF's Community For Yu-Gi-Oh!, Anime, Video Games, and MORE!

Yu-Gi-Oh! Box Buster, Shonen Jump, and Shenanigans

Posted by Yogizilla on February 18, 2012

Yo gamers and geeks!

So I finally buckled down and decided to start recording videos since most don’t have the patience to read my long-winded posts (understandable).  I have a great webcam but my lighting stinks.  There’s going to be lots of editing before those hit the interwebz.

Until I get those videos out, I wanted to share my recent spree of Yu-Gi-Oh! purchases.  There’s quite a bit so I’ll just focus on the following purchases:

  • 4 Order Of Chaos booster packs
  • 1 Generation Force Special Edition box set

Before I dig into some of the goodies I got, there are three things you need to know before buying Yu-Gi-Oh! cards:

  1. Yu-Gi-Oh! Special Edition box sets are often cheaper than buying booster packs and come with guaranteed super/ultra rare cards.
  2. Being a Shonen Jump subscriber means you get access to awesome duel strategies and core deck builds..  Plus FREE Yu-Gi-Oh! cards – w00t!!
  3. While buying single cards will guarantee you get exactly what you need, it’s often more cost-effective to go with structure/starter decks, lots, tins, or box sets.

Speaking of Shonen Jump, I am still disappointed they are going 100% digital but it seems they’ll still send out the occasional freebies, primarily for new subscribers and renewals.  Oh well..  At least I got this card in the second to last issue (EVER??) of Shonen Jump:

Shonen Jump LIMITED EDITION X-Saber Souza

Thanks to this Shonen Jump Yu-Gi-Oh! freebie, I'm actually rebuilding and playing my X-Saber deck again!

 

Read on for Yu-Gi-Oh! box buster fun and other shenanigans!

First up, in the Generation Force Special Edition box set, I got Elemental HERO Absolute Zero, which would be great for my killer water-attribute deck but I’m giving to my son since he really wants it for his Elemental Hero deck (which is pretty powerful, I must say).  Here’s what he looks like (his looks and effects are rather sexy, I’d say):

GENE-ENSE1 | Elemental Hero Absolute Zero | Generation Force Limited Edition

Elemental HERO Absolute Zero - a perfect compliment for water and/or HERO decks!

While I am not typically a Fusion Monster user, this card is making me seriously rethink that.  The potential for locking down your opponent’s tactics is great here..  And I must say WATER decks are still amongst my favorites (I have 12 or so decks I’m currently running..  yeah, I’m a little obsessed with deck building).

Now for the content of the Generation Force booster packs…

Monsters:

  1. Crashbug Y
  2. 2 Master of the Flaming Dragonswords
  3. Sea Lancer
  4. Crashbug X
  5. Wind-Up Dog
  6. Elemental HERO Flash
  7. Burgeoning Whirlflame
  8. Lava Magma Cannoneer
  9. Goblindbergh
  10. Crashbug Z
  11. Spearfish Soldier
  12. Achacha Archer

Spells:

  1. Cracking (Continuous)
  2. Crashbug Road (Quick-Play
  3. Star Changer (Quick-Play)
  4. Aqua Jet
  5. Fish and Kicks
  6. Resonance Device
  7. Thunder Short
  8. Mask Change (Quick-Play)

Traps:

  1. Past Image
  2. Tryant’s Tummyache (Continuous)
  3. Utopian Aura
  4. Asleep at the Switch
  5. Explosive Urchin

DISCLAIMER:  I collect for playing mostly, though I trade and give some of the cards away.  About one in twelve cards was a foil or holographic card, which is pretty good.  Your experience may differ, of course.

Generation Force has something for everyone but it seems to particularly shine with burn decks (effect damage) and WATER-attribute builds.  Now I’m going to really go back and tweak my decks because some of these cards are too good NOT to include in my current builds.  I’m surprised I did not get more repeats in the three packs so it seems they’re really bundling together unique boosters, rather than similarly-packed ones.

What has your experience been with the Yu-Gi-Oh! Generation Force?

Which cards do you dig the most?

(I’m tempted to share my thoughts on these awesome cards but..  Let’s move on!)

Wrapping up this Yu-Gi-Oh! “box buster” (technically, I guess it’s more of a booster opener, but who cares), there are 4 Order Of Chaos booster packs.  I dig this series because there are tons of ninjas and support cards.  Let’s see what treasures I got in my four packs!

Monsters:

  1. Evoltile Pleuro
  2. 2 Trance Archfiend
  3. Divine Dragon Apocralyph
  4. Sweet Corn
  5. 2 Aqua Armor Ninja
  6. Vampire Koala (Awww, he’s so CUTE..  ACK – he has fangs!!)
  7. Masked Ninja Ebisu
  8. 2 Air Armor Ninja
  9. Dark Blade the Captain of the Evil World
  10. Flame Armor Ninja
  11. Familiar-Possessed – Dharc
  12. Wind-Up Honeybee
  13. Evolsaur Elias
  14. Interplanetarypurplythorny Dragon (WOW..  That’s a mouthful..  But WHAT a killer dragon – YAY!)
  15. Kurivolt (NOT Kuribon but REALLY nice if you have an XYZ-heavy deck build/recipe.)
  16. Inzektor Dragonfly
  17. Koala-Koala (Fusion)

Spells:

  1. Shrine of the Mist Valley (Field)
  2. Galaxy Wave (Continuous)
  3. XYZ Burst
  4. Dicephoon (Quick-Play)
  5. Double Defender (Continuous)
  6. Primordial Soup (Continuous)
  7. Armor Ninjitsu Art of Alchemy

Traps:

  1. Armor Ninjutsu Art of Freezing (Continuous)
  2. Splash Capture
  3. Variable Form (Continuous)
  4. Armor Ninjitsu Art of Rust Mist (Continuous)
  5. Royal Prison (Continuous)
  6. Zenmailstrom
  7. Counterforce
  8. The Huge Evolution is Over (Counter)
  9. Sealing Ceremony of Katon (Continuous)

I’m pretty stoked because I got some good cards to trade with friends and family that are running Wind-Up, Inzektor, and other rare builds (not as common as Six Samurai and Red Nova Dragon builds, at least).  I also have a nice stable of ninjas that can be combined with a Warrior deck very nicely.  Ooooohhh..  Back to the drawing board!

(It kinda irks me that they want with the Westernized “ninjitsu” spelling instead of “ninjutsu” for the English Yu-Gi-Oh! cards..  But maybe I am just over-analyzing again.”

CALL TO ACTION:  I’d love to hear what you think about the formatting of this box buster.  Too much detail?  Not enough?  Let me know.  I’m here to make your Yu-Gi-Oh! experience as fun and rewarding as possible!

Don’t forget that we have a special promotion for you online gamers.  Visit DuelPasses.com (aff. link) and enter the discount code “dponline” to save on your Yu-Gi-Oh! Online DuelPass purchases.  Yu-Gi-Oh! Online is a more cost-effective way to really get a feel for Yu-Gi-Oh! before investing tons of money in buying real-world decks.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

