Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Pass ONLINE (An NoF Portal)

Clan NoF's Community For Yu-Gi-Oh!, Anime, Video Games, and MORE!

RAGE For The XBox 360.. Worst Ending (And Multiplayer) Ever?

Posted by Yogizilla on October 24, 2011

Not too long ago, I wrote an epic first impressions piece on RAGE. Admittedly, the game took a backseat to Too Human and Gears of War 3 recently. I’m still a big fan of the game but I am disappointed, even after reading all the negative reports.

Friends that are Gamefly junkies beat the game in a day. Granted, they did not get into all the excursions of the game, that’s pretty impressive. The game’s length is just right but the climax lacks. Rather, story/campaign mode builds up a climax and then falls flat.

When one of my buddies said RAGE had the worst ending ever I said, “How bad could it really be?” I’m not playing the game for a story but I expected a big ending. I was wrong. No real boss battle. No epicness.. I was sad.Here’s a game with tons of awesome stuff but it falls short on so many levels. Allow me to illustrate!

  1. Weapons and ammo in RAGE are diverse and fun.. But there’s no real incentive for spending your in-game money on the good stuff. One of my friends beat the game with mostly his shotgun only.
  2. Deathmatch would have been awesome here. Make it traditional DOOM style and we’d be set. All the weapon varieties would have made this an easy win…
  3. Instead of traditional humanoid combat, we’re given RAGE races and Carnage mode. It’s fun so long as you don’t play against opponents that have better upgrades than you.
  4. To unlock better vehicles and upgrades in RAGE race modes, you need to play the other modes more.. I am not a fan of the rallies but Meteor Rally was great fun.
  5. You can’t play the minigames online.. Really, I’d Software? That’s lazy.
  6. The visceral gameplay in RAGE would have made an Arcade mode and online leaderboard awesome.. This game could have easily competed with Gears of War 3 in terms of replay value and multiplayer options.
  7. Back to the vehicle gameplay modes. I don’t get why this made the cut. It’s a mere diversion.. I’d take it as an add-on or bonus feature but multiplayer could have been soooo much more!

So, yes, I am disappointed with the way the game ended even with all the warnings. It was all downhill once I inserted Disc 2 into my unsuspecting XBox 360. Tsk tsk.

The game ends with a setup that could lead to a sequel or at least some DLCs. We’ll have to see where they go with this IP. There’s still tons of potential here!

I hope someone over at Bethesda or iD Software is listening. Expand upon RAGE Frenzy, at the very least. For now, this is a game to rent or trade in ASAP. It pains me to say that since everything in this game is brilliantly done beyond what I just mentioned. I mean, the new engine looks amazing.. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for DOOM 4…

4 Responses to “RAGE For The XBox 360.. Worst Ending (And Multiplayer) Ever?”

  1. KiNgDeeM said

    guess maybe i should trade my new copy in somewhere for GOW3. since the replay value sucks

    • Yogizilla said

      I said I’d buy it off ya.. Actually, you not playing it with me (shame on you) is what finally made me decide to trade it in and pick it up again when the price drops enough. I’d like to attempt the game on Nightmare.. Plus I’m missing one collectible card, apparently. Meh!

      The replay value is great, especially if you love achievements, but I’m just annoyed I have no one to play online in the game. The races are quite fun.. I will miss the game. *sniffles*

      Oh well, Battlefield 3 and Gears of War 3 will keep me more than busy.. Plus there’s some other games I’m dusting off, including Too Human. =o]

  2. Chizzle1003 said

    Best 1st person shooter I ever played until I seen the ending. It snuck up on me like a thief n the night that didn’t steal anything. The only thing that can fix this is a sequel with a much better ending & maybe a boss fight at the end.

    • Yogizilla said

      Agreed!

      Though I would also say deathmatch would be perfect for the way the game is set up.. And have stats, unlocks, and points carry across gameplay modes. RAGE road is fun but I’m still wondering what compelled them to abandon such deep gun play when doing the online portion of the game.

      I’m thinking level design was the issue. It takes a lot of effort to get a map built and get the balance just right. Still, they could have sharded the open world some.. Heck, even the two cities would have been fun for deathmatch!

      But I digress.. An epic boss battle was definitely lacking. I never expected a deep story but it’s like they did not even try, especially with how strong it all started out. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

 
