Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Pass ONLINE (An NoF Portal)

Clan NoF's Community For Yu-Gi-Oh!, Anime, Video Games, and MORE!

XBox One Is Almost Here.. Do We Even Care?

Posted by Yogizilla on November 20, 2013

XBox One and Playstation 4 backstage E3 2013.

XBox One and Playstation 4 share space backstage at E3.

People have asked me this question quite a bit:

Which console are you/should I get: XBox One or PS4?

I say neither.. at least for now. I am unimpressed by the launch titles and, really, I barely touch my console these days. Those of you that follow me on Twitch.tv know I prefer streaming a wide variety of PC games, especially bargain bin deals and sweet bundles. As such, I see no need to upgrade any time soon.

The one thing we can agree on is that the Nintendo Wii-U is in a class of it’s own and certainly does not compete directly (it’s like that by design).  I am sure we can also agree that the PC offers more for less, too.  Thank you, Humble Bundle and Steam.

As far as console gaming goes, I am happy to revive old games and stick to my mainstays such as Black Ops 2, Battlefield 3, Mass Effect 3, and now GTA V.  There are tons of games I can dust off, as well as countless impulse buys in my XBox LIVE arcade library.  Speaking of which, add Yogizilla on XBox LIVE and maybe we can stream together.  That might just motivate me to get excited about console gaming again.

XBox One VS. PS4 Facts & Assumptions

What cracks me up about this whole next generation is how people are all flocking to PS4 still, citing marked improvements to resolution and gameplay.  They also say that Microsoft is invading our privacy and limiting how we access content.  I hate to break it to you, fanboys, but Microsoft and Sony are both doing the same stupid things.  There is a lot of misinformation, silly emotion, bias, and assumptions, even in the above image..  Shame.

I mean, the PS4 will not even play audio CDs or MP4s.  WTF?  If I had to choose one, I would go with the XBox One, simply because Microsoft has the better online experience hands-down.  This is a fact, not an opinion.  Several people have analyzed the infrastructure and come to the same conclusion…  Regardless, I will stick to PC gaming for now and recycling old console games.

While people are camping out to get their new so-called next-gen consoles, the rest of us will be playing the next-gen games right now as we have all along.  I feel like we’d all be more excited if Sony, Microsoft, and Nintendo alike could do subsidized sales much like Steam and Humble Bundle.  They just can’t keep up on price and technology, really.  Speaking of which, Steam Winter Sale 2013 is coming and it will pwn Black Friday deals without the insanity!  Also, SteamOS is bringing the PC to the living room in a big way..  GG.

Moving on, I will be streaming more League of Legends and random assorted flavors on Twitch.  In fact, I am about to showcase Guardians of Middle-Earth for Steam.  I love the XBox 360 version so this should be a treat.  For those still stuck on the whole console business, read my article about Why The Next-Gen Gaming Consoles Are Unimpressive at yomar.me, y0.

Leave a Reply

 
